You are here

Shortlist announced for The Forward Prizes for Poetry 2012

Forward Prizes Poetry Four Colman Getty Publishing PRLast week, Four Colman Getty enjoyed an interesting day of poetry discussion with the Forward Poetry Prize judges Leonie Rushforth (chair), Emma Hogan, Megan Walsh, Ian McMillan, and Alice Oswald. The judges have all had a busy couple of months reading over 150 single poems and around 200 collections of poetry. The judges have now shortlisted five Best Collections, five Best First Collections and five Best Single Poems.

Four Colman Getty has been working with the Forward Poetry Prizes since they launched in 1992, and every year we’re intrigued to find out which collections and poems the judges will choose for the Forward anthology, published in October when the winners are announced.

The shortlist announcement was covered by BBC online, Guardian online, Telegraph online and New Statesman online, and throughout the book trade press.

Founded by William Sieghart in 1992 and sponsored by The Forward Group, over the last 21 years The Forward Prizes have recognised and awarded the best in contemporary poetry. Worth a total of £16,000, the Forward Prizes reward both established and up-and-coming poets. In the last two decades poets including Seamus Heaney, Carol Ann Duffy and Ted Hughes have won the Best Collection category. Just one poet, Robin Robertson, has won all three prizes.

More about the Forward Prizes for Poetry can be found at

You might also like