You are here

Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction winner announced

Wade Davis, winner of the Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction 2012, with the judges (l-r) David Willetts MP (chair of judges), Bronwen Maddox, Paul Laity, Wade Davis, Patrick French, Professor Raymond Tallis

In November Four Colman Getty announced the winner of the Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction 2012. Dotti Irving is on the steering committee for the prize, and Four Colman Getty does everything from collating the hundreds of submitted books and appointing the judges, to running the PR campaign and organising the event and dinner.This year’s winner was author Wade Davis for his book Into the Silence, about Mallory and the conquest of Everest. He beat off stiff competition from books about the Mumbai slums, the dramatist Strindberg, the Spanish Civil War, violence over the millennia, and walks around the world. Canadian Wade flew in especially for the award ceremony, leaving behind his busy life as Explorer-in-Residence at the National Geographic Society (a somewhat contradictory job title…)Highlights of the coverage include reviews of the six shortlisted books on The Culture Show and on BBC Radio 4 The World at One, news coverage in four national newspapers, and interviews with the winner on BBC Radio 4’s The World Tonight and Today programme. The dinner at RIBA brought together around 170 personalities from publishers, the book trade and media.

You might also like